Save As... puts E. coli sauce on the menu

Posted on by Mike Evans

Last week we mentioned a way of reinstating the beloved Save As…. menu item to Mountain Lion. Since the arrival of cloudified Lion, we have been missing the ability to create a new version of a file under a different name.

Now we hear that the new Save As… is not all it is cracked up to be. According to this story in Mac Performance Guide, using the reinstated function causes both the edited original document and the copy to be saved, thus not only saving a new copy, but silently saving the original with the same changes, thus overwriting the original.

It is possible manually to use Revert To… to recover the older document but, if the quirk isn’t noticed, you could be in store for a nasty surprise in the future if you want to see the old document. As the writer puts it:

To take what was perfect functionality for decades and corrupt it in this way shows a disturbing disregard for the needs of serious users. Being cool with new underlying features (versioning) is not an excuse for wrecking highly useful features. It is not just weak sauce, it is E. Coli sauce.

∞ Permalink